June Featured Blogger: Ali Damron

Ali’s blog {AliDamron.com} shares a little about her life’s journey – exploring her love for healthy eating and working out. Ali lives in Chandler with her husband, trying to figure out life as a newly wed. Ali and her husband were married in Sedona, AZ May 7th, 2011. She is currently pursuing her Master’s degree in Oriental Medicine and will be finished November of this year! Ali is also a certified ACE personal trainer (since 2006) and has worked in several different settings training people.

We’ve asked Ali a few questions – here’s what she had to say:

AZBN:  What inspired you to start blogging?  

I traveled abroad in 2009 and blogged about my travels and after I was back in the states, I let that blog go and then last year, I read a ton of healthy living blogs and they inspired me to start my blog in an attempt to keep myself accountable with food and workouts.  By reading other people’s blogs, I have gotten tons of new ideas both for workouts and recipes.

AZBN:  What is your favorite post up and running on your blog and why?  

I think my favorite post is “A Year in Review: 2011” because I had a big year last year with getting married, my sister getting married, traveling a lot, school, and adopting a puppy.  That post puts the year into perspective.

AZBN:  What are your favorite blogs to read?  

I read lots of blogs!  I first started reading PB Fingers so I still read that frequently.  I also love Carrots N’ Cake, Daily Garnish, Iowa Girl Eats and Run Eat Repeat.  There are tons more, but I think those are the top ones.

AZBN:  What is your favorite part about blogging?  

I like the community aspect of blogging.  There are so many like-minded people out there that become your friends online and then in person too.  There is always someone to ask for advice about virtually anything too!

AZBN:  What is your best tip for other bloggers?

My best tip would be to write consistently.  I have made a conscious goal to try to post at least 3 times per week this year and I’ve pretty much stayed on top of that.  When you write consistently, more people read your blog.  Also commenting on other blogs gets your name out there too!

AZBN:  Do you have a personal mantra that you live by?  

I have several mantras depending on what I’m doing.  For working out, I tell myself that I’m just one workout away from a good mood.  My mom sent me this quote a couple of weeks ago and I love it!

“The most beautiful people we have known are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known struggle, known loss, and have found their way out of the depths. These persons have an appreciation, a sensitivity, and an understanding of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness, and a deep loving concern. Beautiful people do not just happen.”
― Elisabeth Kübler-Ross

AZBN:  How long have you lived in AZ?  

I moved to AZ in 2004 to start college at ASU my sophomore year.

AZBN:  In your opinion, what is AZ’s best kept secret?  

Well I don’t really think it’s so much a secret anymore, but I think Pizzeria Bianco is the best pizza I’ve ever had.  I also love La Grande Orange too!

Want to know more about Ali? Here’s where you can find her on the web:

Blog: www.alidamron.com

Twitter: @alidamron

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/alidamron/

Leave a Reply

