August Featured Blogger: Meghan

Meghan {Phase 3 of Life}

From Meghan: I’m a 30-year-old wife, mother, writer and public relations professional. I’m originally from Cleveland, Ohio and moved to Phoenix for a 10-week internship right after I graduated from college. I was offered a job at the end of that 10 weeks, so I stayed. I met my husband, fell in love, got married, and had a kid. It’s all pretty typical, but also pretty awesome.

What inspired you to start blogging?
Before I became pregnant with my son, Ryan, I had partnered with friends on a couple of smaller blog projects (first a hiking blog and then a baking blog). Once I found out I was pregnant, I began a pregnancy blog with the goal of printing it as a keepsake book for my son once he was older. But I was thoroughly hooked, so once he was born, I started up the blog I write now, Phase Three of Life.
What is your favorite post up and running on your blog and why?
I’m going to go with The Daily Daycare Report post because I think it embodies my particular writing style and my effort to not sugarcoat this whole parenting gig.
What are your favorite blogs to read?
I read a lot of parenting blogs, but some of my favorite blogs are those that are not “one note” blogs, but instead take on a variety of topics. Amanda at It’s Blogworthy writes about her son a lot, but she also writes a killer Celebrity News Roundup on Fridays. Snap, Crackle, Pop is another favorite of mine. She’s not a mom, so her blog is totally baby-free and is full of pop culture, literature, engagement talk (cuz she is) and vintage jewelry (cuz she upcycles it).
What is your favorite part about blogging?
Hands down, the community. I’ve met so many amazing people through blogging that I wouldn’t have “met” otherwise. I read and comment on their blogs and they read and comment on mine. I think we know each other better than I know some of my own family members. 😉
What is your best tip for other bloggers?
When you get stuck and have writer’s block and can’t come up with a topic, don’t write a post about how you can’t come up with a topic. We’ve all been there. Instead, try writing in a stream of consciousness; whatever you’re thinking or feeling, just start typing. At some point either a topic will work its way out on its own (and you can go back and edit and refocus on that one topic), or you’ll have a cool bullet-pointed “this is what I’m thinking about” post. If nothing else, maybe you’ll sweep the cobwebs away and the next time you sit down to write, it’ll come more easily to you.
Do you have a personal mantra that you live by?
“Worrying doesn’t rid tomorrow of its struggles; it only rids today of its strength.” I don’t remember where I read that, but it’s so, so true. It doesn’t stop me from worrying all the time, but it does put things into perspective when I need it.
How long have you lived in Arizona?
Eight years and nine summers. (Not that I’m counting or anything.)
In your opinion, what is Arizona’s best kept secret?
I don’t know if it’s really a secret, but I love that I can get in my car and drive just a couple of hours and see a totally different landscape, feel a different climate and soak up a different lifestyle. One of my favorite things about Arizona is its road-trip potential. My personal in-state favorites are Prescott, Flag and Bisbee; out-of-state favorites are San Diego and Bryce Canyon/Zion in Utah.
If you want to see more from Meghan, here is where you can find her:
Twitter: @Phase3ofLife
Leave a Reply

